Feuilleton

Virtual Worlds is Partner of the BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS Festival


The Virtual Worlds Festival currently takes its name literally and is currently participating as a partner in the joint programme of the BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS Festival.
Participation is free of charge. The festival takes place entirely in Virtual Reality for as long as the Corona Pandemic lasts. Daily changing 3D and 360 degree films will be shown, you can exchange ideas with the creators and attend dance parties together.

We talked with the curator of Virtual Worlds, Astrid Kahmke, about the festival:

How did this idea come about?

Since the first big events and festivals were cancelled or postponed in March, everyone has been looking for digital solutions to fill the gaps that have arisen – and so are we. Social VR platforms have been around for years, but they have not really caught on yet. Now it seems their hour has come: Meetings in VR are more intense than video chats and seem almost real, even when a funny avatar embodies you. You can move in the virtual space and feel the presence of others.

The idea behind the BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS FESTIVAL is to open a space where people can forget their worries. A mental time-out, so to speak, to better cope with these challenging pandemic times. We offer a platform where people can meet around the clock from anywhere in the world. Every day we show different top-class 360° experiences and 3D films. There is even a dance floor with music. I joined the Virtual Worlds Festival as soon as I heard about the plans.

Who are the partners?

BDTW was initiated by Stereopsia and VRrOOm. Stereopsia has been an international festival in Brussels since 2009, organized in close cooperation with the Hollywood-based Advanced Imaging Society and its EMEA chapter, dedicated to all forms of 3D / XR / AI. Stereopsia presents the prestigious Lumiere Awards to exceptional 3D and 3D VR creators. The festival creators contribute first-class 3D films and 360° experiences with their network.

There is also VRrOOm, an XR news website. It has published a festival app that supports XR events in digital distribution. Founder Louis Cacciuttolo and I had already planned a cooperation with the Virtual Worlds Festival at the beginning of the year to stream some events simultaneously in VR. Without this platform and the technical know-how of the international developer team, the BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS FESTIVAL would not be possible.

How does Virtual Worlds get involved?

With the Virtual Worlds Festival and the i4c-conferences of the Bavarian Film Center before it, I have been curating and showing VR-experiences for five years.

So of course we have a rich archive of internationally first-class works and a strong network. This is necessary to get permission from the artists to exhibit their work in our VR-Space. We work very closely and unbureaucratically with Stereopsia and VRrOOm. Everybody contributes their part. We collect experiences, promote the event together and are of course in constant exchange.

Which works are shown as contribution of the “Virtual Worlds”?

With Virtual Worlds we could contribute the following works so far:

JONATHAN GRIFFITH with EVEREST, a breathtaking 360°-experience, which was shown at Virtual Worlds in 2019. It is now available as a three-part movie in the Oculus store in the app “Oculus TV”. With Jonathan, who is a professional mountaineer, climber and photographer, we climb Mont Blanc, Mount Everest and Mount Pilot. The pictures in 360° are just great. Part 1 is already running, part 2 can be seen on Easter Sunday, and the third part will come in the second half of April.

RICARDO LAGANARO, who won the Grand Jury Award (VR) in Venice in 2019, will be showing STEP TO THE LINE, a 360° film from 2017, which was produced for Oculus for Good and premiered in Tribeca. We screened the film at one of our i4c conferences and I am very happy that we can show it here again – on Thursday, April 9th.

With TRAVELING WHILE BLACK, FELIX&PAUL contribute an experience that is personally very close to my heart and that always takes me away. We showed the 360° film last year at Virtual Worlds as part of the “Felix&Paul Retrospective”, now it will probably be shown in the second half of April at the BDTW Festival.

And finally, STEFAN GÖPPEL and ANDREA ZIMMERMANN with BAUHAUS IN BAVARIA have also been added very quickly, a production of Schwarzbild Media in Munich, which was also shown at Virtual Worlds last year, and has in the meantime run a real festival marathon. We will also be showing this film in the second half of April.

After keeping the BDTW running until Corona is under control, we will continue to work on the program. Every week a new programme is published. The best way to stay informed is through our social media channels.

BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS Week 2 Trailer

What else does the festival offer besides the works? And how does it work?

You can dance, watch movies, enjoy 360°-experiences or just talk. You have to think of it that way: You log on to the app VRChat, a VR social network with different rooms. This works with most VR glasses, but also without on the PC. There you search for the world “VRrOOm” and teleport there. The world itself consists of three floors, which you can walk through: Below is the dance floor, at ground level the virtual cinema with rows of seats and a big screen, and above the portal to the current 360°-expierence.

BDTW is open 24/7 – and of course globally. So it can happen that you stand alone or with only a few participants in the room. It’s best to make an appointment at a certain time or use our “Creators’ Hour” daily at 6pm CEST (Munich time), at which the producer or creator of the experience or film is present.

Further notes on participation

Technical explanations:

The Break Down These Walls Festival takes place simultaneously at the VRrOOm Social XR cultural hub @ VRChat and the VRrOOm XR Festivals app. It offers the audience a program with one VR film and one 3D film per day for the duration of the lockdown.

How to participate in Break Down These Walls

Via Smartphone, tablet, mobile VR and PC VR headsets you can participate with 3DoF (three degrees of freedom) via:

● Apple App Store / iOS

● Google Play / Android / Daydream

● Oculus store / Oculus Rift, Oculus Go, Samsung Gear VR

● Viveport / HTC Vive

Via PC, laptop (without Mac), all types of PC VR headsets and Quest with Oculus Link* you can participate with 6DoF (six degrees of freedom). Just search the VRrOOm World in the VRChat app.

* Note: Access with Oculus Quest alone allows you to meet people and join DJ parties, but it does not work for the 360-degree movie shows.

Further links:
More about the significance of virtual reality for Bavaria as a media location and how Virutal Worlds, as cooperation partners of the international “Break Down These Walls Festival 2020”, are helping to shape virtual festival innovations, reveal Astrid Kahmke and Benedikt Frank in an interview with XPLR: Media in Bavaria

About the author

Written by:

As head of the XR HUB, Silke Schmidt is responsible for the strategy, the coordination of the three locations in Bavaria and their internationalisation. Previously, she worked for the Bavarian State Ministry of Digital Affairs in the "Audiovisual Media: Film, Games and XR" department. Contact via silke.schmidt@xrhub-bavaria.de

Categories

Economy Kategorie-Icon

Economy

View category
Feuilleton Kategorie-Icon

Feuilleton

View category
Meetings & Social Kategorie-Icon

Meetings & Social

View category
Science Kategorie-Icon

Science

View category
Training & Education Kategorie-Icon

Training & Education

View category

Feuilleton

Virtual Worlds als Partner des BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS Festivals


Das Virtual Worlds Festival nimmt seinen Namen derzeit wörtlich und beteiligt sich aktuell als Partner am gemeinsamen Programm des BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS Festivals. Die Teilnahme daran ist kostenlos und findet komplett in der Virtuellen Realität statt, solange die Corona-Pandemie andauert. Gezeigt werden täglich wechselnde 3D- und 360-Grad-Filme, man kann sich mit den Schöpfern austauschen und gemeinsam Tanzparties besuchen.

Wir haben mit der Kuratorin der Virtual Worlds, Astrid Kahmke, über das Festival gesprochen:

Wie kam es zu dieser Idee?

Seit im März die ersten großen Events und Festivals abgesagt oder verschoben wurden, suchen alle nach digitalen Lösungen, um die entstandenen Lücken zu füllen – wir auch. Social-VR-Plattformen gibt es schon seit Jahren, aber so richtig durchgesetzt haben sie sich bisher nicht. Jetzt scheint ihre Stunde gekommen zu sein: Treffen in VR sind intensiver als Videochats und wirken fast real, sogar wenn einen ein lustiger Avatar verkörpert. Man kann sich im virtuellen Raum bewegen und spürt die Präsenz.

Die Idee hinter dem BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS FESTIVAL ist es, einen Raum zu öffnen, in dem Menschen ihre Sorgen vergessen können. Eine mentale Auszeit sozusagen, um diese herausfordernden Pandemie-Zeiten besser zu meistern. Wir bieten eine Plattform, auf der man sich rund um die Uhr von überall auf der Welt aus treffen kann. Wir zeigen jeden Tag andere hochkarätige 360°-Experiences und 3D-Filme. Es gibt sogar eine Tanzfläche mit Musik. Ich habe mich mit dem Virtual Worlds Festival sofort angeschlossen, als ich von den Plänen erfuhr.

Wer sind die Partner?

Initiiert wurde BDTW von Stereopsia und VRrOOm. Stereopsia ist seit 2009 ein internationales Festival in Brüssel, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der in Hollywood ansässigen Advanced Imaging Society und deren EMEA-Kapitel organisiert, das sich allen Formen von 3D / XR / KI widmet. Stereopsia vergibt die prestigeträchtigen Lumiere Awards an außergewöhnliche 3D- und 3D-VR-Creators. Die Festivalmacher tragen mit ihrem Netzwerk erstklassige 3D-Filme und 360°-Experiences bei.

Außerdem ist da VRrOOm, eine XR-News-Website. Sie hat eine Festival-App veröffentlicht, die XR-Events bei der digitalen Distribution unterstützt. Der Gründer Louis Cacciuttolo und ich hatten bereits Anfang des Jahres eine Kooperation mit dem Virtual Worlds Festival geplant, um das ein oder andere Event zeitgleich auch in VR zu streamen. Ohne diese Plattform und das technische Know-how des internationalen Developer-Teams wäre das BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS FESTIVAL nicht denkbar.

Wie bringt sich Virtual Worlds da mit ein?

Mit dem Virtual Worlds Festival und den i4c-Konferenzen des Bayerischen Filmzentrums davor kuratiere und zeige ich seit fünf Jahren VR-Experiences.

So haben wir natürlich ein reiches Archiv international erstklassiger Arbeiten und ein starkes Netzwerk. Das ist nötig, um von den Künstlern die Erlaubnis zu bekommen, ihre Arbeiten in unserem VR-Space auszustellen. Dabei arbeiten wir mit Stereopsia und VRrOOm sehr eng und unbürokratisch zusammen. Jeder trägt seinen Teil bei. Wir sammeln Experiences, bewerben das Event zusammen und sind natürlich im ständigen Austausch.

Welche Werke werden unter der Virtual Worlds gezeigt?

Mit Virtual Worlds konnten wir bis jetzt folgende Beiträge beisteuern:

JONATHAN GRIFFITH mit EVEREST, eine atemberaubenden 360°-Experience, die 2019 auf der Virtual Worlds zu sehen war. Sie ist jetzt als Dreiteiler im Oculus-Store in der App „Oculus TV“ erhältlich. Mit Jonathan, der professioneller Bergsteiger, Kletterer und Fotograf ist, steigen wir auf den Mont Blanc, den Mount Everest und Mount Lotse. Die Bilder in 360° sind einfach nur großartig. Teil 1 lief bereits, Teil 2 ist am Ostersonntag zu sehen und der dritte Teil kommt dann in der zweiten Aprilhälfte.

RICARDO LAGANARO, der 2019 in Venedig den Grand Jury Award (VR) gewonnen hat, zeigt mit STEP TO THE LINE einen 360°-Film aus dem Jahr 2017, der für Oculus for Good produziert wurde und in Tribeca seine Premiere feierte. Wir hatten den Film bei einer unserer i4c-Konferenzen im Programm und ich bin sehr glücklich darüber, dass wir ihn hier noch einmal zeigen können – am Donnerstag, den 9. April.

FELIX&PAUL steuern mit TRAVELING WHILE BLACK eine Experience bei, die mir persönlich sehr am Herzen liegt und mich immer wieder mitnimmt. Wir zeigten den 360°-Film im letzten Jahr bei Virtual Worlds im Rahmen der „Felix&Paul Retrospektive“, jetzt wird er vermutlich in der zweiten Aprilhälfte im BDTW Festival gezeigt.

Und schließlich sind auch sehr schnell STEFAN GÖPPEL und ANDREA ZIMMERMANN mit BAUHAUS IN BAVARIA dazugekommen, eine Produktion der Schwarzbild Media in München, die ebenfalls im letzten Jahr bei Virtual Worlds zu sehen war, und zwischenzeitlich einen regelrechten Festivalmarathon hingelegt hat. Auch diesen Film zeigen wir in der zweiten Aprilhälfte.

Nachdem wir das BDTW so lange weiter laufen lassen, bis Corona unter Kontrolle ist, arbeiten wir kontinuierlich weiter am Programm. Jede Woche wird ein neuer Spielplan veröffentlicht. Am besten bleibt man über unsere Social-Media-Kanäle informiert.

BREAK DOWN THESE WALLS Week 2 Trailer

Was bietet das Festival noch außer den Werken? Und wie funktioniert das?

Man kann tanzen, Filme schauen, 360°-Experiences genießen oder sich einfach nur unterhalten. Man muß sich das so vorstellen: Man loggt sich in der App VRChat ein, einem VR-Social-Network mit verschiedenen Räumen. Das funktioniert mit den meisten VR-Brillen, aber auch ohne am PC. Dort sucht man die Welt „VRrOOm“ und teleportiert dorthin. Die Welt selbst besteht aus drei Etagen, die man begehen kann: Unten befindet sich die Tanzfläche, ebenerdig das virtuelle Kino mit Sitzreihen und einer großen Leinwand, und oben das Portal zur jeweils aktuellen 360°-Expierence.

BDTW ist 24/7 geöffnet – und natürlich global. So kann es schon vorkommen, dass man mal alleine oder nur mit wenigen Teilnehmern im Raum steht. Am besten ist es, man verabredet sich zu einer bestimmten Uhrzeit oder man nutzt unsere „Creators‘ Hour“ täglich um 18 Uhr CEST (Münchner Zeit), bei der jeweils der Produzent oder Creator der Experience oder des Films anwesend ist.

Weitere Hinweise zur Teilnahme

Technische Erläuterungen:

Das Break Down These Walls Festival findet gleichzeitig im VRrOOm Social XR cultural hub @ VRChat und der VRrOOm XR Festivals app statt. Es bietet dem Publikum ein Programm mit einem VR-Film und einem 3D-Film pro Tag für die Dauer des Lockdowns.

Wie man an Break Down These Walls teilnehmen kann:

Via Smartphone, tablet, mobile VR und PC VR Headsets kann man mit 3DoF (dreiFreiheitsgraden) teilnehmen über:

● Apple App Store / iOS

● Google Play / Android / Daydream

● Oculus store / Oculus Rift, Oculus Go, Samsung Gear VR

● Viveport / HTC Vive

Via PC, Laptop (ohne Mac), allen Arten von PC VR Headsets und Quest mit Oculus Link* kann man mit 6DoF (sechs Freiheitsgraden) teilnehmen. Einfach die VRrOOm World in der VRChat app suchen.

* Der Zugang mit der Oculus Quest alleine erlaubt es, Leute zu treffen und an DJ-Parties teilzunehmen, aber er funktioniert nicht für die 360-Grad-Filmvorführungen.

Weitführende Links:

Mehr zum den Stellenwert von Virtual Reality für den Medienstandort Bayern und wie Virutal Worlds als Kooperationspartner des internationalen „Break Down These Walls Festivals 2020“ virtuelle Festival-Innovationen mitgestalten, verraten Astrid Kahmke und Benedikt Frank im Interview mit XPLR: Media in Bavaria

Über den Autor

Geschrieben von:

Silke Schmidt ist als Leiterin des XR HUB für die  Strategie, die Koordination der drei Standorte in Bayern und deren Internationalisierung zuständig. Zuvor war sie im Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Digitales im Bereich „Audiovisuelle Medien: Film, Games und XR“ tätig. Kontakt via silke.schmidt@xrhub-bavaria.de

Rubriken

Feuilleton Kategorie-Icon

Feuilleton

Artikel ansehen
Training & Education Kategorie-Icon

Training & Education

Artikel ansehen
Wirtschaft Kategorie-Icon

Wirtschaft

Artikel ansehen
Wissenschaft Kategorie-Icon

Wissenschaft

Artikel ansehen