Science

Not alone here?! Scalability and UX in Social VR


This TVCG’19 contribution examines the performance and user experience of social virtual environments that are designed for distributed, embodied and immersive personal encounters. As one result, a user study shows the positive effects of an increasing number of co-located social companions on the quality of the virtual world experience.

Summary

This article examines the performance and user experience of social virtual realities (SVR), which are distributed, embodied and immersive personal encounters. We demonstrate the close relationship between scalability, reproduction accuracy, and the resulting performance characteristics and the impact of these characteristics on users who interact with larger groups of embodied virtual others. The scalability of the system provides a variable number of co-located avatars and AI-controlled agents with a variety of different appearances, including realistic looking virtual humans generated from photogrammetry scans. The article reports on how the requirements for embodied SVR can be met with today’s standard technical solutions and what can be expected in terms of features, performance and possible limitations. Special attention has been paid to achieving low latencies and sufficient frame rates required for reliable communication of embodied social signals. We propose a hybrid evaluation approach that coherently relates the results of technical benchmarks to subjective evaluations and confirms the required performance characteristics for the target scenario of larger distributed groups. A user study shows positive effects of an increasing number of co-localized social companions on the quality of experience of virtual worlds, i.e. on presence, interaction possibilities and co-presence. It also shows that a variety of avatar/agent appearances could increase the level of uncannyness, but also stimulate an increased interest of participants in the environment.

Here you can download the paper.

Here you can find information about the Chair and here it goes straight to its leader, Prof. Marc Erich Latoschik.

About the author

Written by:

Not Alone Here?! Scalability and User Experience of Embodied Ambient Crowds in Distributed Social Virtual Reality, In IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics (TVCG), Vol. 25 (5), pp. 2134-2144. 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories

Economy Kategorie-Icon

Economy

View category
Feuilleton Kategorie-Icon

Feuilleton

View category
Meetings & Social Kategorie-Icon

Meetings & Social

View category
Science Kategorie-Icon

Science

View category
Training & Education Kategorie-Icon

Training & Education

View category

Wissenschaft

Not alone here?! Scalability and UX in Social VR


Dieser TVCG’19 Beitrag untersucht Performanz und Benutzererfahrung von sozialen virtuellen Umgebungen, welche auf verteilte, verkörperte und immersive, persönliche Begegnungen abzielen. Als ein Ergebnis zeigt eine Benutzerstudie die positiven Auswirkungen einer zunehmenden Anzahl ko-lokalisierter sozialer Begleiter auf die Qualität der Erfahrung mit virtuellen Welten.

Zusammenfassung

Dieser Artikel untersucht die Performanz und das Benutzererlebnis sozialer virtueller Realitäten (SVR), welche auf verteilte, verkörperte und immersive, persönliche Begegnungen abzielen. Wir demonstrieren die enge Beziehung zwischen Skalierbarkeit, Reproduktionsgenauigkeit und den daraus resultierenden Leistungsmerkmalen sowie die Auswirkungen dieser Merkmale auf Benutzer, die mit größeren Gruppen von verkörperten virtuellen Anderen zusammenkommen. Die Skalierbarkeit des Systems bietet eine variable Anzahl von gemeinsam lokalisierten Avataren und KI-gesteuerten Agenten mit einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Erscheinungsbilder, einschließlich realistisch aussehender virtueller Menschen, die aus Photogrammetrie-Scans erzeugt werden. Der Artikel berichtet darüber, wie die Anforderungen an verkörperte SVR mit den heutigen technischen Standardlösungen erfüllt werden können und was hinsichtlich der Funktionen, der Leistung und möglicher Einschränkungen zu erwarten ist. Es wurde besonders darauf geachtet, niedrige Latenzen und ausreichende Bildraten zu erreichen, die für eine zuverlässige Kommunikation von verkörperten sozialen Signalen erforderlich sind. Wir schlagen einen hybriden Evaluierungsansatz vor, der die Ergebnisse von technischen Benchmarks kohärent mit subjektiven Bewertungen in Beziehung setzt und die erforderlichen Leistungsmerkmale für das Zielszenario größerer verteilter Gruppen bestätigt. Eine Nutzerstudie zeigt positive Auswirkungen einer zunehmenden Anzahl ko-lokalisierter sozialer Begleiter auf die Erlebnisqualität virtueller Welten, d.h. auf Präsenz, Interaktionsmöglichkeiten und Ko-Präsenz. Sie zeigt auch, dass eine Vielfalt an Avatar-/Agentenerscheinungen die Unheimlichkeit erhöhen, aber auch ein gesteigertes Interesse der Teilnehmer an der Umgebung stimulieren könnte.

Hier gibt es das Paper zum Download.

Hier gibt es Informationen zum Lehrstuhl und hier geht es direkt zu seinem Leiter, Prof. Marc Erich Latoschik.

Über den Autor

Geschrieben von:

Not Alone Here?! Scalability and User Experience of Embodied Ambient Crowds in Distributed Social Virtual Reality, In IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics (TVCG), Vol. 25 (5), pp. 2134-2144. 2019.

Rubriken

Feuilleton Kategorie-Icon

Feuilleton

Artikel ansehen
Training & Education Kategorie-Icon

Training & Education

Artikel ansehen
Wirtschaft Kategorie-Icon

Wirtschaft

Artikel ansehen
Wissenschaft Kategorie-Icon

Wissenschaft

Artikel ansehen