Feuilleton

5 questions to Philipp Schall, Tellux Next, about Blautopf VR


Philipp Schall is the managing director of Tellux Next GmbH. He presented his project “Blautopf VR” on 23.01.2020 at the XR HUB Munich together with his colleague Christoph Rasulis.

How did you get the idea for Blautopf VR?

Already some years ago we had the idea to realize the fascination “cave” first as a film. But it soon became clear that in order to experience these strange and very dark worlds, the user should be able to change his perspective. A perfect chase for VR .

Blautopf VR is the prime example of a VR experience, a space that is not accessible to normal people can be experienced. Have you correctly assessed the challenges of opening up such a location using photogrammetry?

We tested a lot in the run-up and got together with the right experts. For example, we already did the test shots in a show & research cave in 2017 and then tried out the photogrammetry pipeline from realities.io. With the knowledge gained from this test run, we were able to optimise our requirements for local production conditions and the possibilities for story and game design. This more than paid off in the physical production in autumn 2018.

What reasons did you weigh up when you thought about which formats: 360 degree film, VR experience, game you wanted to realize?

In addition to the considerations regarding the production pipeline, we have oriented ourselves to the respective possible usage scenarios in order to reach as many different target groups as possible. If you make such an effort, you want to reach not only the experienced VR gamers* but also people who are putting on VR glasses for the very first time or who may never do so.

Therefore we serve different degrees of involvement “Lean Forward”, “Lean Back” and “Reader” with different forms of experience.

What do you need to know about immersive sound?

Especially when telling immersive stories, the acoustics play an essential role in addition to the visual experience of a room. In our special case, we want to make things experienceable in the dark cave world that one should not see. This is achieved by the three-dimensional sound design by Delta Soundworks and the gripping soundtack by Simona Miranda Melzer.

What is your next project and where do you see the XR theme in the future?

We are always happy to explore innovative ways to find the best way for a story to become a user. The XR theme is also an integral part of the entertainment world. In the near future, however, it will not be possible to go beyond purely industrial applications and AAA-IP licenses without partners such as public broadcasting corporations or funding institutions.

About the author

Written by:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Categories

Economy Kategorie-Icon

Economy

View category
Feuilleton Kategorie-Icon

Feuilleton

View category
Meetings & Social Kategorie-Icon

Meetings & Social

View category
Science Kategorie-Icon

Science

View category
Training & Education Kategorie-Icon

Training & Education

View category

Feuilleton

5 Fragen an Philipp Schall, Tellux Next, zu Blautopf VR


Philipp Schall ist der Geschäftsführer der Tellux Next GmbH. Er hat sein Projekt „Blautopf VR“ am 23.01.2020 im XR HUB Munich gemeinsam mit seinem Kollegen Christoph Rasulis vorgestellt.

Wie seid Ihr auf die Idee zu Blautopf VR gekommen?

Bereits vor einigen Jahren kam uns die Idee die Faszination “Höhle” zunächst als Film umzusetzen. Schnell war aber klar, dass man zur Erfahrung dieser fremden und sehr dunklen Welten, den Nutzer die Perspektive wechseln lassen sollte. Ein perfekter Chase für VR .

Blautopf VR ist ja das Paradebeispiel für eine VR Experience, ein für den normalen Menschen nicht zugänglicher Raum wird dadurch erlebbar. Habt Ihr die Herausforderungen, eine solche Location mittels Photogrammmetrie zu erschließen, richtig eingeschätzt?

Wir haben im Vorfeld viel getestet und uns mit den richtigen Experten zusammengetan. So haben wir bereits 2017 die Probeaufnahmen in einer Schau- & Forschungshöhle durchgeführt und dann die Photogrammetriepipline von realities.io ausprobiert.  Mit den Erkenntnissen aus diesem Testlauf, haben wir unsere Anforderungen an die lokalen Produktionsbedingungen und die Möglichkeiten für Story- sowie Game-Design optimieren können. Dies hat sich bei der physischen Produktion im Herbst 2018 mehr als ausgezahlt.

Welche Gründe habt Ihr abgewogen, als Ihr überlegt habt, welche Formate: 360 Grad Film, VR Experience, Game ihr umsetzen wollt?

Neben den Überlegungen zu der Produktionspipeline haben wir uns an den jeweiligen möglichen Nutzungsszenarien orientiert, um möglichst viele verschiedene Zielgruppen zu erreichen. Wenn man einen solchen Aufwand betreibt, möchte man neben den versierten VR-erfahrenen  Gamer*innen auch Menschen erreichen, die zum allerersten Mal eine VR Brille aufsetzen oder das sogar vielleicht nie tun werden.

Daher bedienen wir verschiede Grade des Involvements “Lean Forward”, “Lean Back” sowie “Reader” mit verschiedenen Erlebnisformen.

Was ist beim Thema immersiver Sound zu beachten?

Gerade beim Erzählen von immersiven Geschichten, spielt neben der visuellen Erfahrung eines Raumes auch die Akustik eine wesentliche Rolle. In unserem speziellen Fall wollen wir in der dunklen Höhlenwelt auch Dinge erfahrbar machen, die man nicht sehen soll. Dies passiert durch das dreidimensionale Sound-Design von Delta Soundworks und den packenden Soundtack von Simona Miranda Melzer.

Was ist Euer nächstes Projekt und wo seht Ihr das Thema XR in der Zukunft?

Wir beschreiten immer gerne innovative Wege, um für eine Story deren besten Weg zum*r Nutzer*in zu finden. Das Thema XR ist auch aus der Entertainment-Welt nicht mehr wegzudenken. In nächster Zukunft wird es aber jenseits der reinen Industrieanwendungen sowie AAA-IP-Lizenzen nicht ohne Partner wie die öffentlich-rechtlichen Sendeanstalten oder Förderinstitutionen gehen.

Über den Autor

Geschrieben von:

Rubriken

Feuilleton Kategorie-Icon

Feuilleton

Artikel ansehen
Training & Education Kategorie-Icon

Training & Education

Artikel ansehen
Wirtschaft Kategorie-Icon

Wirtschaft

Artikel ansehen
Wissenschaft Kategorie-Icon

Wissenschaft

Artikel ansehen